REDD+ Strategy Coordination Meeting in Hopang: Wa Self-administrated Township

11-12 December 2018, Hopang


UN-REDD programme organized two-day workshop on awareness raising of reduction emission from deforestation and forest degradation and coordination meeting on REDD+ strategy with the collaborations of Forest Department and Wa self -administration office in Hopang, Shan State.


The workshop was intended to enhance REDD+ engagement with ethnic groups for deepening awareness level and promoting REDD+ coordination in ethnic areas. Nearly 80 representatives from Wa self- administration areas and different government agencies actively participated in the workshop.


U Khun Htun Lu, the President of Wa self- administration office gave welcome remark at opening ceremony highlighting on climate change impacts in Myanmar and the importance of multi- stakeholders engagement in REDD+ strategy to address climate change related issues.


U Htay Lwin, Assistant Director of Forest Department (Hopang) gave speech at the opening session. He said, ” UN-REDD programme is implementing at national level. As a focal department, forest department is supporting to develop REDD+ strategy and its policies and measures with UN-REDD programme partner organizations. And we would like to urge all stakeholders to participate actively in its process for the sake of our country’s target”


After it, U Min Soe, Stakeholder Engagement officer from UN-REDD presented about Deforestation and its drivers. And then, he also discussed about the role of safeguard system in REDD+ .


Daw Khin Hnin Myint, National Programme Coordinator of UN-REDD programme gave explanation on cost and benefit of REDD+ implementation. Afterwards,  UN-REDD programme management team summarized the workshop objectives and discussed about way forwards.


At the second day of the workshop, participants discussed in groups for REDD+ draft strategy and gave comments and recommendations.  UN-REDD programme conducted consultation workshops for REDD+ strategy and its PAMs with ethnic communities such as New Mon State Party, Pa-O National Organization, Danu and Palaung  from Self-administrative Zones in 2018.